Skip to menu Skip to content
There is no Space Technology Investment Forum planned for 2018.
August 30 – 31, 2017
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square

Ed Rosenthal

Ed Rosenthal
Founder and Chairman of the Board
Florikan ESA



Ed Rosenthal is Founder and Chairman of the Board of Florikan ESA

With the research assistance of NASA Kennedy Space Center and Florida’s Space Alliance Technology Outreach Program, Ed is the inventor of Florikan Controlled Release (CRF) Fertilizer, as well as of Staged Nutrient Release (SNR) fertilizer. Both Ed Rosenthal as individual and the SNR fertilizer technology are being inducted into the 2017 Space Technology Hall of Fame by Space Foundation. Florikan SNR and Florikan CRF partner with the Space Foundation through the Space Certification program for Technology product.

As well, Ed’s Student, Teacher and Community Educational Outreach program is a Certified Space Education program.  This outreach program educates students around the country and the world about NASA Veggie program. After several years of rigorous research, Florikan CRF was selected by Space Plant Biology program (NASA KSC) as the controlled release fertilizer product to grow vegetables on the International Space Station for our astronauts. Using Florikan Controlled Release Fertilizers, NASA KSC Space Plant Biology has grown three crops of Outredeous red romaine lettuce and one crop of Tokyo Bekana cabbage on the ISS. Next step for Space Plant Biology with Florikan CRF is included in production grow boxes on APH (Advanced Plant Habitat) and eventually for the “journey to Mars”. 

Ed and his wife Betty founded Florikan ESA in 1982. Today their sons Eric and Jonathan are second generation owners of the company. As a further introduction, we cannot separate Ed Rosenthal and Florikan achievements. Florikan is 35 year old Controlled Release Fertilizer manufacturing company with a legacy of business success and awards for ethics. Florikan has received 13 major awards for ethical business practice, product innovation, job creation and environmental leadership; one of the few companies in the country with such a vast array of recognition over 35 years. In 2017, Florikan was inducted into the Space Foundation's Space Technology Hall of Fame® 


Participating Events

Thursday, August 31, 2017
2:00 p.m. to
3:00 p.m.
Panel: Commercializing Space Tech – Opportunities for Profit
Location: Metropolitan Ballroom - 2nd Floor

Lloyd Starks


Alan Mittelman

President & CEO
Eagle Eye Optics

Ed Rosenthal

Founder and Chairman of the Board
Florikan ESA

Joseph Urso

Chairman & Chief Executive Officer
Aerus Holdings LLC


« Go back